Housing options available to sophomore students are as follows:
- Allen and Brewster Hall
- Cromwell Hall
- Decker Hall
- Eickhoff Hall
- New Residence Hall
- Townhouse East
Allen, Brewster, and Ely (sometimes referred to as ABE or EAB), were built in 1931 and named for Elizabeth Allen, founder of the State Teacher’s Pension and Annuity Fund, Alice L. Brewster, Professor of English, and Sarah Y. Ely, Professor and Normal School supervisor of the girls’ department.
Built in 1931, these three traditional residence halls (standard doubles and singles with communal bathrooms) are connected by lounges and house approximately 150 students in total. Because of the building’s age, each room has a unique size and layout. See the floor plans on the right for more information.
ABE’s hallways and most of its rooms are carpeted. Allen Hall is home to a beautiful main lounge called the Allen Drawing Room, which features hardwood floors, fireplace, baby grand piano, and antique furnishings.
ABE is known for offering residents a small, intimate setting. With floors that range from 10-20 students, this building can feel more like a large house than a residence hall. ABE also offers its residents the convenience of wireless internet, a high shower to occupant ratio, an area office for mail, packages, and spare keys on the first floor, close proximity to the Atrium at Eickhoff, and lots of communal space where residents can engage in group study, socialize, play pool, cook meals, or hang out and watch television.
Cromwell Hall, renovated during the 2012-2013 academic year, is a 6-story, 300-bed residence hall housing male and female sophomore students in suite-style rooms. All floors are co-ed with single-sex suites.
Most suites are 6-person (3 double rooms) or 2-person (2 singles) and all suites have their own bathroom. The average double room is approximately 150 square feet.
While there are common area lounges located on the first floor, laundry rooms are located on floors 2, 4, and 6. Cromwell does not feature air conditioning or carpeting in the suites.
The first floor features the hall office, mailboxes for residents, a kitchen, and a large lounge big enough to hold events up to 200 people.
Opened in 1963, Decker Hall was named for Vernetta F. Decker, Professor of English and Speech from 1926-1937 and The College’s Dean of Students. Decker Hall was renovated in 1992 and also again in 2010.
Decker Hall is a co-ed suite style facility housing approximately 360 students in single, double, and triple rooms that share a suite bathroom. Decker Hall does not have air conditioning. Most rooms in the basement are carpeted, and most rooms on floors 1-6 have tile flooring.
Opened in 1992 as the Community Commons and renamed for former President Harold Eickhoff in 2001, this building combines student residential space and student services. Consisting of mostly double rooms, each has its own bathroom, and is air conditioned and carpeted.
The building is also home to the Atrium at Eickhoff, an 800 seat dining facility that is the hub of TCNJ campus dining. Eickhoff Hall is also home to the Department of Residential Education and Housing (room 114) and the Counseling and Psychological Services (room 117).
Opened in 1985, this three story air conditioned residence hall houses about 250 students in carpeted, double rooms with private bathrooms. New Residence Hall was recently renovated in 2011 and includes a main lounge which opens up to a picturesque courtyard, two small study lounges on each floor, and a large basement game room.
Townhouse East features units that house 10 students, all with single bedrooms. Each townhouse is air-conditioned and has a main living room. There is a bathroom, shower, full refrigerator, microwave, on all three floors with a common area sink.
On the first floor of each townhouse there is a furnished house lounge, including a table, chairs, sofa and love seat.
Laundry facilities, hall offices and main lounges (with a full kitchen) are available in the complex as well.